Hip Hop


Verbal Kwest is a dynamic duo breathing life and inspiration into hip-hop culture. The two Chicago emcees – known to most as BreevEazie and J.Kwest – released their first project, Batman & Batman, in 2011 to widespread critical acclaim. In 2012 the group was featured in the OXFAM and Bread for the World-produced documentary entitled The Line, providing a critical voice against poverty and violence in the US.

BreevEazie is best known for his seminal LP Baby Food (2001), is a Holy Hip-Hop Award winner, and has opened for Deitrick Haddon, Donnie McClurkin, and Kanye West among others. J.Kwest is also an award-winning songwriter, has been featured on the Grammy-nominated Holy Hip-Hop: Taking the Gospel to the Streets series, Dr. Maya Angelou’s XM Radio program, and was celebrated as “Living Black History” by Urban Ministries International.

Though coming from different backgrounds – J.Kwest, holding two degrees (Morehouse & Univ. of Chicago) and is the senior pastor of University Church in Chicago; BreevEazie, a “street smart” lyricist who has transformed deep pain into profound expression – VK unites with a deep love of God and hope for humanity. They also unite the streets and the church, sharing global stages such as the Taste of Chicago Festival, Megafest, and in Hiroshima, Japan.

Their music is powerful and engaging and connects the streets to the church to the academy to the love and justice of God. Their next project is an EP entitled “#GoTime” and is scheduled for a summer 2013 release.

To learn more, and to help us be the change we seek in this world, visit Also, for more information on the solo workings of J.Kwest and BreevEazie visit and

Batman & Batman

[shopify embed_type=”product” shop=”” product_handle=”batman-batman-verbalkwest” show=”button-only”]

Verbal Kwest, the duo known in the Christian Hip Hop community as BreevEazie & J.Kwest, are set to release their first studio album together, entitled, Batman & Batman. While suggesting their childhood dreams of being actual superheroes, the album is about the divine call to be and do SUPER in the world despite human limitations. Verbal Kwest believe that in each person resides the brokenness of a Bruce Wayne and the power of a Batman.

  • Again -
  • Batman & Batman -
  • Believers -
  • Bless Me -
  • Crazy Streets -
  • Flashlight ft. AB -
  • Freedom -
  • Get Down ft. Jay-Illa -
  • I'm Batman -
  • Riding Thru Gotham -
  • The Shinning -
  • Testify ft. Brian Wesley -
  • Viper -
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.